Palestinian man shot in bed… by the world’s most moral army.

I’m  mentioning this rather late, but as you may know, a 66 year old Palestinian man was shot dead in bed last week. Amr Al Qawasme was killed in his Hebron home during an IDF raid to re-arrest 5 Hamas members, who had been released one day earlier.

Isn’t this account from Qawasme’s wife chilling?:

“I was praying when they entered. I do not know how they opened the door. They put their hand to my mouth and a rifle to my head,”

she told Reuters after Qawasme’s body was removed.

“I was shocked. They did not allow me to talk. I asked them, ‘What did you do?’ They asked me to shut up.”

The execution (let’s be honest about what it was) has had the affect of prompting dialogue between Hamas and the PA, which is interesting. The following is from Maan News:

“The Undersecretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and head of the governmental committee to break the siege, Yousef told Ma’an that efforts were underway to put together a meeting between Fatah and Hamas, following a fierce exchange of accusations over who bore responsibility for the Hebron death, and simultaneous detention of 5 Hamas affiliates who had been released from PA custody only the day before.”

Yeah, but… what? “Who bore responsibility for the death?”

Oh… I guess it means;  since the Israeli Defence Force is incapable of bearing responsibility for anything at all, someone else has to take responsibility . Remember how they were attacked by those Peace Activists on the Marvi Marmara?

Yossi Gurvitz has a good post on the IDF’s claim that , wait for it… ( as it is exceptionally pathetic) they were “returning fire.”

